Chennai Portal

Government Holiday List for 2020


Madrasi is your city guide to Chennai India. From automobiles to education, from latest cars to travel, you will find it here. Look up the Chennai city portal with a difference! Make your money work for you. Learn about Retirement Planning options, popular investment options, mutual funds and other financial matters at Madrasi.info.








Tamil Nadu Government Holiday List for 2020
Under the 'Explanation' to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) read with Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, No.20-25-26, Public-1, dated the 8th June, 1957, the Government of Tamil Nadu hereby declares, that in addition to 'Sundays' expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said 'Explanation' the following days shall be Public Holidays for the year 2020.


SL.NO. FESTIVAL DATE DAY
1 New Year's Day 1-1-2020 Wednesday
2 Pongal 15-1-2020 Wednesday
3 Thiruvalluvar Day 16-1-2020 Thursday
4 Uzhavar Thirunal 17-1-2020 Friday
5 Republic Day 26-1-2020 Sunday
6 Telugu New Year's Day 25-3-2020 Wednesday
7 Maveer Jayanthi 6-4-2020 Monday
8 Good Friday 10-4-2020 Friday
9 Tamil New Year's Day and Dr.B.R.Ambedhkar's Birthday 14-4-2020 Tuesday
10 May Day 1-5-2020 Friday
11 Ramzan 25-5-2020 Wednesday
12 Bakrid 1-8-2020 Saturday
13 Krishna Jayanthi 11-8-2020 Tuesday
14 Independence Day 15-8-2020 Saturday
15 Vinayakar Chathurthi 22-8-2020 Saturday
16 Muharram 30-8-2020 Sunday
17 Gandhi Jayanthi 2-10-2020 Friday
18 Ayuda Pooja 25-10-2020 Sunday
19 Vijaya Dasami 26-10-2020 Monday
20 Milad-un-Nabi 30-10-2020 Friday
21 Deepavali Diwali 14-11-2020 Saturday
22 Christmas 25-12-2020 Friday

Some holidays which fall on Saturdays and Sundays, are included in the above list for easy reference.


# Applicable only to Commercial Banks Including Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu.


Tamil Nadu Government Holiday List 2020