Chennai Portal    

Government Holiday List for 2019

Madrasi is your city guide to Chennai India. From automobiles to education, from latest cars to travel, you will find it here. Look up the Chennai city portal with a difference! Make your money work for you. Learn about Retirement Planning options, popular investment options, mutual funds and other financial matters at
Search for Information about Chennai

Tamil Nadu Government Holiday List for 2019
Under the 'Explanation' to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) read with Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, No.20-25-26, Public-1, dated the 8th June, 1957, the Government of Tamil Nadu hereby declares, that in addition to 'Sundays' expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said 'Explanation' the following days shall be Public Holidays for the year 2019.

1 New Year's Day 1-1-2019 Tuesday
2 Pongal 15-1-2019 Tuesday
3 Thiruvalluvar Day 16-1-2019 Wednesday
4 Uzhavar Thirunal 17-1-2019 Thursday
5 Republic Day 26-1-2019 Saturday
6 Telugu New Year's Day 6-4-2019 Saturday
7 Tamil New Year's Day and Dr.B.R.Ambedhkar's Birthday 14-4-2019 Sunday
8 Maveer Jayanthi 17-4-2019 Wednesday
9 Good Friday 19-4-2019 Friday
10 May Day 1-5-2019 Wednesday
11 Ramzan 5-6-2019 Wednesday
12 Bakrid 12-8-2019 Monday
13 Independence Day 15-8-2019 Thursday
14 Krishna Jayanthi 23-8-2019 Friday
15 Vinayakar Chathurthi 2-9-2019 Monday
16 Muharram 10-9-2019 Tuesday
17 Gandhi Jayanthi 2-10-2019 Wednesday
18 Ayuda Pooja 7-10-2019 Monday
19 Vijaya Dasami 8-10-2019 Tuesday
20 Deepavali Diwali 27-10-2019 Sunday
21 Milad-un-Nabi 10-11-2019 Sunday
22 Christmas 25-12-2019 Wednesday

Some holidays which fall on Saturdays and Sundays, are included in the above list for easy reference.

# Applicable only to Commercial Banks Including Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu.

Tamil Nadu Government Holiday List 2019