Chennai Portal    

Government Holiday List for 2018


Madrasi is your city guide to Chennai India. From automobiles to education, from latest cars to travel, you will find it here. Look up the Chennai city portal with a difference! Make your money work for you. Learn about Retirement Planning options, popular investment options, mutual funds and other financial matters at Madrasi.info.
   
Search for Information about Chennai

Tamil Nadu Government Holiday List for 2018
Under the 'Explanation' to section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Central Act XXVI of 1881) read with Notification of the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, No.20-25-26, Public-1, dated the 8th June, 1957, the Government of Tamil Nadu hereby declares, that in addition to 'Sundays' expressly defined as Public Holidays in the said 'Explanation' the following days shall be Public Holidays for the year 2018.


SL.NO. FESTIVAL DATE DAY
1 New Year's Day 1-1-2018 Monday
2 Pongal 14-1-2018 Sunday
3 Thiruvalluvar Day 15-1-2018 Monday
4 Uzhavar Thirunal 16-1-2018 Tuesday
5 Republic Day 26-1-2018 Friday
6 Telugu New Year's Day 18-3-2018 Sunday
7 Mahaveer Jayanthi 29-3-2018 Thursday
8 Good Friday 30-3-2018 Friday
9 Annual Closing of Accounts for Commercial Banks # 1-4-2018 Sunday
10 Tamil New Year's Day and Dr.B.R.Ambedhkar's Birthday 14-4-2018 Saturday
11 May Day 1-5-2018 Tuesday
12 Ramzan 25-6-2018 Friday
13 Independence Day 15-8-2018 Wednesday
14 Bakrid 22-8-2018 Wednesday
15 Krishna Jayanthi 2-9-2018 Sunday
16 Vinayakar Chathurthi 13-9-2018 Thursday
17 Muharram 21-9-2018 Friday
18 Gandhi Jayanthi 2-10-2018 Tuesday
19 Ayuda Pooja 18-10-2018 Thursday
20 Vijaya Dasami 19-10-2018 Friday
21 Deepavali Diwali 6-11-2018 Tuesday
22 Milad-un-Nabi 21-11-2018 Wednesday
23 Christmas 25-12-2018 Tuesday

Some holidays which fall on Saturdays and Sundays, are included in the above list for easy reference.


# Applicable only to Commercial Banks Including Co-operative Banks in Tamil Nadu.


Tamil Nadu Government Holiday List 2018